The Grammy Award Nominees Have Been Announced

While everyone expected Ed Sheeran and Kesha to loom large over the Grammy nominations for 2018, voters went out into left field for the most surprising set of names in recent memory. Rather than go full-on mainstream, they decided to pile nods on Jay-Z, rapper Childish Gambino and Luis Fonsi, the man behind the worldwide smash “Despacito.”

 Jay-Z’s 4:44 -- an answer to wife Beyonce’s Lemonade album -- helped propel him to a leading eight nominations, while Kendrick Lamar notched seven. Bruno Mars found that all that’s gold does glitter -- thanks to the six nominations generated by his hit 24K Magic album.

The biggest surprise came from Childish Gambino -- also known as Emmy-winning actor Donald Glover -- who took down five noms, including Record of the Year for the single “Redbone.” He’ll compete with Luis Fonsi’s “Despacito,” which became the first non-English language song to gain mentions for both Song of the Year and Record of the Year.

For Best New Artist, voters will choose from Alessia Cara,  Khalid,  Lil Uzi Vert, Julia Michaels and SZA

And in case you were wondering, neither Taylor Swift’s massive Reputation album nor any of its singles were eligible for consideration; they were all released after the cutoff point for the year. But watch out in 2019.

Andra Day has just announced the nominees in the top categories for the Grammy Awards on CBS This Morning. The show airs live from New York on January 28th on CBS.


  • Alessia Cara
  • Khalid
  • Lil Uzi Vert
  • Julia Michaels
  • SZA


  • "Redbone" - Childish Gambino
  • "Despcacito" - Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber
  • "The Story of O.J." - Jay-Z
  • "Humble" - Kendrick Lamar
  • "24K Magic" - Bruno Mars

SONG OF THE YEAR (songwriters award):

  • "Despacito" - Ramón Ayala, Justin Bieber, Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd, Erika Ender, Luis Fonsi and Marty James Garton, songwriters (Luis Fonsi and Daddy YankeeFeaturing Justin Bieber)
  • "4:44" - Shawn Carter and Dion Wilson, songwriters (Jay-Z)
  • "Issues" - Benny Blanco, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Julia Michaels and Justin Drew Tranter, songwriters (Julia Michaels)
  • "1-800-273-8255" - Alessia Caracciolo, Sir Robert Bryson Hall II, Arjun Ivatury and Khalid Robinson, songwriters (Logic Featuring Alessia Cara and Khalid)
  • "That's What I Like" - Christopher Brody Brown, James Fauntleroy, Philip Lawrence, Bruno Mars, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus and Jonathan Yip, songwriters (Bruno Mars)


  • Awaken My Love - Childish Gambino
  • 4:44 - Jay-Z
  • Damn - Kendrick Lamar
  • Melodrama - Lorde
  • 24K Magic - Bruno Mars

The Grammys will air live on CBS on January 28th.

JTD in the Morning

JTD in the Morning

Get to know JTD in The Morning on 100.3 The Peak in Albuquerque, NM Read more


Content Goes Here