Daylight Saving Time Is Here: 10 Facts About the Clock Change

It's time to spring forward! Daylight Saving Time begins the second Sunday of March for most of the United States. Here are 10 facts about the tradition you may not have known:

1. While not necessarily advocating changing time, Benjamin Franklin urged his fellow countrymen to work during daylight and sleep after dark, thus saving money on candles. (It was likely a tongue-in-cheek comment.)

2. The correct term is daylight "saving" (not savings) time. The incorrect term “daylight savings time” is commonly used, especially in Australia, Canada and the United States. It's also supposed to be lowercase, not uppercase, according to the Associated Press stylebook.

3. The U.S. Department of Transportation is in charge of time in the U.S., including time zones and daylight saving time.

4. Daylight saving became a federal law in 1966, with passage of the Uniform Time Act. 

5. Only two states don't observe daylight saving time--Hawaii and Arizona. Other non-observers include American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

6. Parts of Indiana didn't observe daylight saving time until 2006, when it became a law statewide.

7. Twenty-six states want to make DST year-round. 

8. Eight months of the year are in daylight time, and four months are in standard time.

9. Adults 65 and older may struggle with the time change more than others.

10. During the energy crisis of the 1970s, Congress ordered states to go on year-round daylight saving time between January 1974 and April 1975.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

100.3 The Peak · Albuquerque's Music Variety from the 90's til Now
Listen Now on iHeartRadio