To Be Tracked or Not? Apple Is Now Giving Us the Choice


With Apple’s latest mobile software update, we get to decide whether apps monitor and share our activities with others. On Monday, (April, 26) Apple released iOS 14.5, one of its most anticipated software updates for iPhones and iPads in years. It includes a new privacy tool, App Tracking Transparency, which could give us more control over how our data is shared. Here’s how it works: When an app wants to follow our activities to share information, a window pops up on our Apple device to ask for our permission to do so. If we say no, the app must stop monitoring and sharing our data. A pop-up window may sound like a minor design tweak, but it has thrown the online advertising industry into upheaval. Most notably, Facebook has gone on the warpath. If we choose not to let Facebook track us, it will be harder for the company to see what we are shopping for or doing inside other apps, which will make it more difficult for brands to target us with ads. (Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s chief executive, has disputed that his company’s business will be hurt by Apple’s policy.) It's a slippery slope the way those trackers look at information on your device to pinpoint you. Apple’s new privacy feature is intended to let you decide whether you want that to happen. Now, when you open some apps, you will be greeted with a pop-up window: “Allow [App Name] to track your activity across other companies’ apps and websites?” You can choose “Ask App Not to Track” or “Allow.” Read more here https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/26/technology/personaltech/apple-app-tracking-transparency.html


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content