If you share your Netflix password with friends -- which is really common -- it might get harder to keep doing. Netflix is testing a new feature that could mean a crackdown is coming on the practice it has until now largely let go on. GammaWire noticed the feature, in which some Netflix users trying to use somebody else's password are being stopped with a screen that says, "If you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching." In order to continue watching, the viewer is given the option of either verifying their identity with a texted or emailed code to the account's owner, or choosing to "verify later," which gives them an unspecified amount of time to continue watching and later confirm they are a valid account user.
Photo: Getty Images